Ancientworldbooks.com

Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
 
 
 
 

Recent Acquisitions

Recent Acquisitions

Click on Title to view full description

 
1 Adkins, Arthur W. H. POETIC CRAFT IN THE EARLY GREEK ELEGISTS
University of Chicago Press 1985 0226007251 / 9780226007250 Hardcover Very Good in Very Good dust jacket 
Foxing/dustsoiling to top of textblock. Light edgewear to DJ. ; Using examples from the work of eight elegists--Archilochus, Callinus, Tyrtaeus, Mimnermus, "Theognis" , Solon, Simonides, and Xenophanes-- Adkins analyzes the uses of caesurae, other pauses, word choice and order, and meter in the elegies. Allusions to Homer, labeled by many commentaries as "epic borrowings" are examined and Adkins discusses why the borrowings were made and to what poetic purpose. ...Offers a technical analysis of the Greek elegy. ; 248 pages 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
2 Allen, John Barrow AN ELEMENTARY LATIN GRAMMAR New Edition, Revised and Enlarged
Oxford At the Clarendon Press 1924 Hardcover Very Good- with no dust jacket 
School plate affixed to inner cover. Some foxing. Small ink stain to rear board. Minor wear. ; 211 pages 
Price: 23.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
3 Allen, W. Sidney VOX GRAECA A Guide to the Pronunciation of Classical Greek
Cambridge University Press 1987 0521335558 / 9780521335553 Third Edition Softcover Near Fine 
Very minor shelfwear. ; Reconstructs the pronunciation of Attic Greek in classical times. ; 179 pages 
Price: 27.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
4 Armstrong, A. H. THE CAMBRIDGE HISTORY OF LATER GREEK AND EARLY MEDIEVAL PHILOSOPHY
Cambridge University Press 1967 052104054X / 9780521040549 Hardcover Very Good+ in Very Good dust jacket 
Minor shelfwear to book. Scholar's bookplate to inner cover (G. P. Goold). DJ is price-clipped. DJ bit browned ; Surveys philosophy from the neo-Platonists to St. Anselm, showing how Greek philosophy took the form in which it was known to its cultural inheritors and how they interpreted it. Includes studies of Marius Victorinus and Augustine, Plotinus, early Islamic philosophy, The Greek Christian Platonist tradition from the Cappadocians to Maximus and Eriugena. ; 715 pages 
Price: 90.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
5 Auden, Henry W. GREEK PROSE PHRASE-BOOK Based on Thucydides, Xenophon, Demosthenes, Plato
MacMillan and Co. 1935 Hardcover Very Good 
School prize plate from St. Clement Danes Holborn Estate Grammar School awarded to G. P. Goold affixed to ffep. Some pencil notes. Spine sunned and discolored. Minor wear. ; 112 pages 
Price: 23.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
6 Barnes, Jonathan THE TOILS OF SCEPTICISM
Cambridge University Press 1990 0521383390 / 9780521383394 Hardcover Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket 
Very minor shelfwear. ; In the works of Sextus Empiricus, scepticism is presented in its most elaborate and challenging form. This book investigates - both from an exegetical and from a philosophical point of view - the chief argumentative forms which ancient scepticism developed. Thus the particular focus is on the Agrippan aspect of Sextus' Pyrrhonism. Barnes gives a lucid explanation and analysis of these arguments, both individually and as constituent parts of a sceptical system. For, taken together, these forms amount to a formidable and systematic challenge to any claim to knowledge or rational belief. The challenge had a great influence on the history of philosophy. And it has never been met. This study reflects the growing interest in ancient scepticism. Quotations from the ancient sources are all translated and Greek terms are explained. Notes on the ancient authors give a brief guide to the sources, both familiar and unfamiliar. ; 176 pages 
Price: 70.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
7 Bell, Andrew J. THE LATIN DUAL & POETIC DICTION Studies in Numbers and Figures
Oxford University Press 1923 Hardcover Very Good in Good dust jacket 
Minor shelfwear. Light browning to endpapers. Scholar's bookplate to inner cover (G. P. Goold). Former owner's name to ffep in ink. DJ browned with some tears and cellotape. ; 468 pages 
Price: 130.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
8 Benediktson, D. Thomas A SURVEY OF SUETONIUS SCHOLARSHIP, 1938-1987 (The Classical World. May-June 1993, Volume 86 No. 5)
The Classical Association of the Atlantic States, Inc. 1993 Softcover Very Good+ 
Light shelfwear. ; Pp 377-456; Classical World May-June 1993, Volume 86 No. 5; 79 pages 
Price: 28.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
9 Bergk, Theodorus [Theodor] (Ed. ) ANTHOLOGIA LYRICA Continens Theognim, Babrium, Anacreontea Cum Ceterorum Poetarum Reliquiis Selectis. Curavit Theodorus Bergk. Editio Altera.
B. G. Teubner 1868 Second Edition Softcover Very Good- with no dust jacket 
Pages browned. Some foxing to endpapers and titlepage. Former owner's initials to inner cover. Book has been rebound in half-leather leather boards with 5 bands to spine and leather spine label. Marbled boards. Attractive binding. ; Ciii, 554 pp ; Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum Et Romanorum Teubneriana TEUBNER; 657 pages 
Price: 42.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
10 Bolton, J. Hutcheson A SELECTION FROM THE SATIRES OF JUVENAL With Translations in Verse and Prose of Intervening Passages and Notes
George G. Harrap & Company 1930 Hardcover Very Good with no dust jacket 
Spine a bit browned. Chipping to spine ends. Some pencil notes. ; 100 pages 
Price: 23.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
11 Braund, Susan H. BEYOND ANGER A Study of Juvenal's Third Book of Satires
Cambridge University Press 1988 0521356377 / 9780521356374 Hardcover Near Fine in Very Good+ dust jacket 
Pages tanned else book is fine. Light scuffing to DJ. ; Cambridge Classical Studies; 312 pages 
Price: 55.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
12 Brink, C. O. HORACE ON POETRY Epistles Book II: the Letters to Augustus and Florus
Cambridge University Press 1982 0521200695 / 9780521200691 Hardcover Very Good+ in Very Good dust jacket 
Scholar's bookplate to inner cover (G. P. Goold). Additional plate to inner cover "With the author's compliments". Else very minor shelfwear. DJ spine faded. DJ has 2 small tears. ; 563 pages 
Price: 265.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
13 Browning, Robert MEDIEVAL AND MODERN GREEK
Hutchinson University Library 1969 0090996003 / 9780090996001 Hardcover Very Good in Very Good dust jacket 
Scholar's bookplate to inner cover (G. P. Goold). Foxing/dustsoiling to top of textblock. ; To speakers of modern Greek the Homeric poems of the 7th century BC are not written in a foreign language. The Greek language has enjoyed a continuous tradition from earliest times until now. This book traces its history from the immediately post-classical or Hellenistic period to the present day. The aim is both to analyse the changing structure of a language stabilised by a peculiarly long and continuous literary tradition, and to show how changing historical circumstances are reflected in its development. In particular the historical roots of modern Greek's internal bilingualism are traced. ; Hutchinson University Library: Modern languages; 153 pages 
Price: 28.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
14 Bryant, E. E. & E. D. C. Lake AN ELEMENTARY GREEK GRAMMAR
Oxford University Press 1955 Hardcover Very Good with no dust jacket 
Endpapers browned. Minor pencilling. Former owner's initials to ffep. Minor wear. ; 124 pages 
Price: 23.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
15 Burnett, Anne Pippin THREE ARCHAIC POETS Archilochus, Alcaeus, Sappho
Duckworth 1983 0715616943 / 9780715616949 Hardcover Very Good+ in Very Good dust jacket 
Minor shelfwear to book and DJ. Scholar's bookplate to ffep (Philippa Goold). Light edgewear to DJ. ; 328 pages; Toward the beginning of the seventh century B. C. There was a flowering of "personal" poetry marked by a passion and a candor that are in striking contrast to the epic tradition. Burnett presents a convincing new interpretation of the three most important poets of the period. 
Price: 55.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
16 Campbell, Archibald Y. HORACE A New Interpretation
Methuen & Company 1924 Hardcover Very Good with no dust jacket 
Endpapers foxed. Pages tanned. Minor fraying to spine ends. ; 303 pages 
Price: 33.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
17 Campbell, David A. THE GOLDEN LYRE The Themes of the Greek Lyric Poets
Duckworth & Company 1983 0715615637 / 9780715615638 Hardcover Very Good+ in Very Good dust jacket 
Scholar's bookplate to ffep (Philippa Goold). DJ has creasing to rear panel and some chipping. ; Examines the most important of the poets' themes-- love, wine, athletics, politics, friends and enemies, gods and heroes, life and death, poetry and music--. The texts are all printed in the original with accompanying translations. ; 320 pages 
Price: 67.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
18 Carrubba, Robert W. (Ed. ) Et Al. THE CLASSICAL WORLD. APRIL-MAY 1974
Classical Association of the Atlantic States, Inc 1974 Softcover Very Good 
Wraps have some browning. Edgewear to front wrap and first few pages. ; 321-416 pp. Contents: Gerald N. Sandy: Recent Scholarship on the Prose Fiction of Classical Antiquity; James W. Poultney: Henry Thompson Rowell 1904-1974; Gilbert Highet: Housmaniana; Gerard B. Lavery: Training, Trade and Trickery: Three Lawgivers in Plutarch; Thomas G. Mccarty: The content of Cornelius Nepos' De Viris Illustribus.... ; The Classical World. April-May 1974. Volume 67, No. 6; 95 pages 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
19 Carson, Anne EROS THE BITTERSWEET An Essay
Princeton University Press 1986 0691066817 / 9780691066813 First Edition Hardcover Very Good+ in Near Fine dust jacket 
Foxing/dustsoiling to top of textblock. Scholar's bookplate to inner cover (Philippa Goold). ; A book about love as seen by the ancients, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with: "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet. ' No one who has been in love disputes her. What does the word mean?", Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view and styles, transcending the constraints of the scholarly exercise for an evocative and lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos William's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue. Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly interesting, Eros is an utterly original book by an author whose acclaim has been steadily growing. ; 8.75 x 0.75 x 5.75 Inches; 189 pages 
Price: 175.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
20 Cavarzere, Alberto SUL LIMITARE IL "Motto" E La Poesia Di Orazio
Pātron Editore 1996 8855523996 / 9788855523998 Paperback Near Fine Signed by Author
Very minor shelfwear. Gift inscription to ffep from author. ; Testi E Manuali Per L'Insegnamento Universitario Del Latino; 47; 299 pages; Signed by Author 
Price: 47.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
  1  2 3 4 5 6 7 8  NEXT >  


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to info@ancientworldbooks.com
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie